As part of its mission to prepare the next generation of community bank leaders, the Graduate School of Banking at Colorado (GSBC) and its partnering organizations fund over $100,000 in scholarships each year to nearly 90 of its students. As the school prepares for its 71st Annual School Session, scheduled for July 17-29, 2022, GSBC is pleased to announce and congratulate the following scholarship recipients, who are preparing to begin GSBC’s Annual School Session:

Future Leaders Scholarship Recipients

GSBC’s Future Leaders Scholarships are awarded to those who have been recognized by GSBC’s co-sponsoring state bankers associations as a future leader in their respective banking communities for outstanding professional performance and involvement. The 2022 Future Leaders Scholarship recipients include:

Lane Bangasser, The State Bank of Faribault (Prior Lake, MN), in partnership with the Minnesota Bankers Association
Bryant Hall
, Hilltop Bank (Casper, WY), in partnership with the Wyoming Bankers Association
Joshua Johnson
, Columbus Bank & Trust Co. (Columbus, NE), in partnership with the Nebraska Bankers Association
Joshua Kummer
, Bankers Trust Company (Des Moines, IA), in partnership with the Iowa Bankers Association
Mindy Lyman
, Bank of Star Valley (Afton, WY), in partnership with the Wyoming Bankers Association
Brad Martin
, Citizens Bank & Trust Co. (Van Buren, AR), in partnership with the Arkansas Bankers Association
Matt Morris, Charter Bank (Johnston, IA), in partnership with the Iowa Bankers Association
Darin Miles
, Union State Bank (Kansas City, MO), in partnership with the Missouri Bankers Association
Eric Porter
, ESB Financial (Emporia, KS), in partnership with the Kansas Bankers Association
Jordan Shearer, SNB Bank, N.A. (Shattuck, OK), in partnership with the Oklahoma Bankers Association
Abigail Tardiff
, ANB Bank (Castle Rock, CO), in partnership with the Colorado Bankers Association

Intermediate School Scholarship Recipients

Intermediate School Scholarships are awarded to those who recently graduated from their respective states’ intermediate-level banking school, and exhibited outstanding academic performance while in the program. Recipients are chosen by intermediate school administrators. The 2022 Intermediate School Scholarship recipients include:

Eric Barmann, Connections Bank (Ashland, MO), top graduate of the Missouri Bankers Association School of Banking Management
Joseph Biggs, The Bank of Tescott (Lincoln, KS), top graduate of the Schools of Banking, Inc. Advanced School of Banking
Jerika Coffman, Quail Creek Bank, N.A. (Oklahoma City, OK), top graduate of the Oklahoma Bankers Association Intermediate Banking School
Morgan Burton, Bank of Lexington, Inc. (Lexington, KY), top graduate of the Kentucky Bankers Association General Banking School

Alumni Association Scholarship Recipients

The GSBC Alumni Association funds up to 10 scholarships per year, and recipients are chosen by the GSBC Alumni Advisory Board. The 2022 Alumni Association Scholarship recipients include:

Tracy AvilezVintage Bank Kansas (Wichita, KS)
Sayer Brenner, First National Bank & Trust Co. (McAlester, OK)
Jacquelyn (Michelle) Goff, GNBank, N.A. (Girard, KS)
Lacey Herring, Bank of Commerce (Rawlins, WY)
Summon Mahmood, The Trust Co. (Manhattan, KS)
Carolyn Matzinger, First National Bank of Creston (Shenandoah, IA)
Tanya Stephens, Pathway Bank (Grand Island, NE)
Amber Ten Eyck, Kaw Valley State Bank (Wamego, KS)
John Weddige, Western Bank (Lubbock, TX)

Other Awards

Independent Bankers of Colorado Scholarship

The Independent Bankers of Colorado (IBC) awards $1,000 scholarships to two rising third-year students who have displayed stellar academic performance in their first two years at GSBC. The 2022 IBC Scholarship recipients include:

Tyler Parry, FirstBank (Denver, CO)
Shannon Ward, Native American Bank (Littleton, CO)

Conference of State Bank Supervisors Scholarship

Each year, the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) awards a scholarship worth one-third of the GSBC tuition to an incoming first-year student. The scholarship remains in tact for the recipient’s entirety of attendance. The 2022 CSBS Scholarship has been awarded to:

Spencer JonesAlabama State Banking Department (Montgomery, AL)


More information on GSBC’s scholarship opportunities can be found here.