As part of its mission to prepare the next generation of community bank leaders, the Graduate School of Banking at Colorado (GSBC) funds more than $100,000 in scholarships annually. As the school prepares for its 72nd Annual School Session, scheduled for July 16-28, 2023, GSBC is pleased to announce and congratulate the following scholarship recipients:


Alumni Association Scholarship Recipients

GSBC funds up to 10 scholarships per year in the name of its Alumni Association. Applicants must cite an alumnus as a referral and recipients are chosen by the GSBC Alumni Advisory Board. The 2023 Alumni Association Scholarship recipients include:

  • Tracy BarchUnited Bank of Union (Union, MO)
  • Shaylyn DoorneweerdPeoples Bank (Rock Valley, IA)
  • Gavin GarrowIndustry State Bank (Industry, TX)
  • Jeremy GrayFirst State Bank of the Southeast (Lexington, KY)
  • Jessica HarperFNBC Bank (Mammoth Spring, AR)
  • Jon Prebeck, First Citizens Bank (Mason City, IA)
  • Lynn Rhodes, Flagship Bank (Eden Prairie, MN)
  • Bryce Row, Jonah Bank of Wyoming (Casper, WY)
  • Austin Simpson, First Community Bank (Rogers, AR)
  • Shane Wolf, Sundance State Bank (Sundance, WY)

Intermediate School Scholarship Recipients

Intermediate School Scholarships are awarded to those who recently graduated from their respective states’ intermediate-level banking school, and exhibited outstanding academic performance while in the program. Recipients are chosen by intermediate school administrators. The 2023 Intermediate School Scholarship recipients include:

Inaugural Bolder Banking Scholarship Recipient Banks

Founded in 2023, the Bolder Banking Scholarship affords GSBC’s 15 partnering bankers associations the opportunity to recognize and reward their member banks displaying innovative approaches to banking. GSBC funds a scholarship for a rising star within the recipient bank to use toward tuition at GSBC. 2023 Bolder Banking Scholarship recipient banks include:

  • Iowa Trust & Savings Bank (Centerville, IA)
  • First Federal Savings Bank (Twin Falls, ID)
  • Citizens Bank of Kansas (Derby, KS)
  • New Market Bank (Elko, MN)
  • Core Bank (Omaha, NE)
  • Kirkwood Bank & Trust, (Bismark, ND)
  • Quail Creek Bank (Oklahoma City, OK)
  • Banner Capital Bank (Cheyenne, WY)

Other Awards

Independent Community Bankers of Colorado Scholarship

The Independent Community Bankers of Colorado (ICBC) awards $2,000 scholarships to four rising third-year students from ICBC member banks who have displayed stellar academic performance in their first two years at GSBC. The 2023 ICBC Scholarship recipients include:

  • Chris Aiken, The Dolores State Bank (Cortez, CO)
  • Jordan Dunn, Bank of Colorado (Fort Lupton, CO)
  • Nicholas Hagerman, First National Bank of Las Animas (Fowler, CO)
  • Derek Hill, FirstBank (Longmont, CO)

Conference of State Bank Supervisors Scholarship

Each year, the Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) awards a scholarship worth one-third of the GSBC tuition to an incoming first-year student. The scholarship remains in tact for the recipient’s entirety of attendance. The 2023 CSBS Scholarship has been awarded to:

  • Daniel KeimigState of Michigan, Office of Banking (Lansing, MI)


More information on GSBC’s scholarship opportunities can be found here.