BOULDER, COLO. – Jelena McWilliams, Chairman of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), will deliver the opening keynote address of the 69th Annual School Session of the Graduate School of Banking at Colorado (GSBC) on July 15, 2019.

“We are honored by the opportunity to host Chairman McWilliams at GSBC this July, and look forward to the insights she has to share with our student body on the state of community banking,” said GSBC President Tim Koch.

McWilliams was sworn in as 21st Chairman of the FDIC on June 5, 2018. Prior to joining the FDIC Board of Directors, she served as Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer, and Corporate Secretary for Fifth Third Bank in Cincinnati, Ohio. At Fifth Third Bank she served as a member of the executive management team and numerous bank committees including: Management Compliance, Enterprise Risk, Risk and Compliance, Operational Risk, Enterprise Marketing, and Regulatory Change.

Prior to joining Fifth Third Bank, McWilliams worked in the U.S. Senate for six years. From 2007 to 2010, she served as an attorney at the Federal Reserve Board of Governors, where she drafted consumer protection regulations, reviewed and analyzed comment letters on regulatory proposals, and responded to consumer complaints.

Before entering public service, she practiced corporate and securities law at Morrison & Foerster LLP in Palo Alto, Calif., and Hogan & Hartson LLP (now Hogan Lovells LLP) in Washington, D.C. In legal practice, McWilliams advised management and boards of directors on corporate governance, compliance, and reporting requirements under the Securities Act of 1933 and the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. She also represented publicly- and privately-held companies in mergers and acquisitions, securities offerings, strategic business ventures, venture capital investments, and general corporate matters.

McWilliams graduated with highest honors from the University of California at Berkeley with a B.S. in political science, and earned her law degree from U.C. Berkeley School of Law.