James C. Scarboro was one of the founders of the Colorado School of Banking in 1950, now the Graduate School of Banking at Colorado (GSBC). He was Executive Manager of the Colorado Bankers Association and Trustee and Secretary of the Colorado School of Banking. He passed away in August 1973.

The GSBC Board of Trustees established the James C. Scarboro Memorial Award in honor of Jim to be presented to a commercial banker or banking educator who has provided outstanding leadership to the banking community and/or banking education.


Eugene H. Adams, 1974

James J. Durkin, 1975

Marriner S. Eggles, 1976

Robert W. Miracle, 1977

Herbert V. Prochnow, 1978

Neil F. Roberts, 1979

Joseph L. Frascona, 1980

Dale Browning, 1982

Gaylord A. Jentz, 1983

Oscar Mahlon Love Jr., 1985

William H. Baughn, 1986

William D. Wilsted, 1989

Charles R. Hazelrigg, 1990

C.C. Hope Jr., 1991

Andrew C. (Skip) Hove, Jr., 1992

Clancy Norris, 1996

George H. Hempel, 1998

Timothy W. Koch, 2002

Don Powell, 2003

Mick Thompson, 2005

Kyle Russell, 2008

Ronald Kranz, 2009

Dave Baker, 2012

Don Childears, 2013

James Mastera, 2014

Kent Needham, 2015

David Kohl, 2016

Roger Guerin, 2017

Thomas Hoenig, 2018

Michael Woody, 2022

Charlie Funk, 2023